Apple Pie

It’s almost Christmas!

I’ve been celebrating the coming holidays since November 1st, because we start early in the UK – Bonfire Night generally includes fireworks and is on November 5th. Think of it like an early New Years.

Nevertheless, I love the holidays. All of them. It just comes one after another for about 6 months: Halloween, Bonfire Night, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years, my Birthday, Valentines Day, Jack’s birthday.

And not too long after that, I’ll be finishing up my formal education! And moving across the world! And getting married!

I generally exist somewhere between SUPEREXCITED and wondering how I can possibly do everything successfully in the next 7 months.

Anyway, I took a break from my wedding diet to make some pies! Over the next few weeks until Christmas, I will be sharing lots of my favourite Thanksgiving/Christmas recipes with you. I’ve been using them all for years with HUGE success!

Today I share with you…Taste of Home’s Apple Pie (with some adjustments! All changes will be noted below – if there is no measurement, use the one in the linked recipe above.)

First combine 1/3 cup sugar, brown sugar, 5 tablespoons flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger into a bowl. Mix and set aside.

Next take 6 apples (I used 3 bramley and 3 red gala apples for a mixture of sweet and sour, but use what you like!), peel, and slice as thinly as you can. I didn’t have any lemon juice, but toss them with that if you have some. Then, toss with your sugar mixture.

P1010396

Now, prep your dough. You can blind bake it if you’d like, but I don’t find it to be necessary. Just lay the dough in your pan, and use more dough to make a top. You can make it look as you’d like, so get creative. Don’t forget to put your apple slices into the pan before putting the top on.

Now just bake! I never use an egg white wash on the top of my pie, so just cook it without foil until the pastry is cooked through. There should be a lovely golden syrup escaping from places.

P1010415

I am so sad that I ate mine already. Bring on Christmas!

Leave a Reply

